Awards hosts Iain Stirling and Hacker T Dog


This year’s Award took place at Odeon, Leicester Square on March 19th.

Celebrating the creative talents of the young people that have been involved in First Light filmmaking projects throughout the year, this year’s ceremony was hosted by comedian Iain Stirling and CBBC’s Hacker T Dog.

Known as the mini Oscars® the ceremony was attended by a mix of film industry luminaries and celebrities including Sir Alan Parker, Joely Richardson, Simon Pegg, Rafe Spall and Olivia Williams, who presented the young people with awards across various categories, including Best Drama, Best Animation, Best Film by Under 12s, Best Film by Over 13s and FILMCLUB of the Year Award.

It was a fun, celebratory event and a new exciting experience for many of the nominees who travelled to London from all over the UK.

Many of the young filmmakers come from disadvantaged backgrounds and have experienced adverse circumstances such as homelessness, exclusion from school, becoming a teenage parent, having a disability or being a refugee.

This years judges included Martin Freeman, Jenna Louise Coleman, Amanda Nevill, David Heyman, Ralf Little, Dawn Porter, Jonathan Bailey, Manjinder Virk, Claire Foy, Toby Jones, Freddie Fox, Rebecca O’Brien, Emma Hindley, and Sir Alan Parker

Again this year, YouTube sponsored the Award for Digital Innovation – an open category which was won by Gulliver Moore. More here

View all of this year’s nominees and winners below.

You Tube Digital Innovation Award

Young Voice Award

Best Documentary

Best Animation

Best Film by Under 12s

Best Drama

Best Film by Over 13s

Best Comedy

FLIC Award